My first mouse attack

I have an unhealthy fear of rodents… And I opened my eyes to see a mouse/rat about 2ft from my face around 4am last night. I woke up to loud scratching, coming from the wall behind my bed, and I rolled over to see a nasty booger scamper onto my bed and down to the floor. I don’t think you can fathom the freak-out level. I instantaneously screamed, jumped up on my bed, and started banging to scare it away. This furry punk just looked at me; it didn’t flinch. I’m seriously giving it the death stare (and still screaming), and it’s just nibbling on rug fibers. By this point, the girls had all realized what was going on, and I’m sure our tent sounded like a roller coaster ride with all the shrieks. I called pest control, who politely advised me to grab traps from their office. Um, I’m sorry, mouse-killer. That’s your job, not mine. I’m not pretentious, but I have limits. I convinced him to make a house visit, but I’m still going to delay going ‘home’ this evening as much as possible. If there weren’t confirmed mice in our work tent as well, I’d take up permanent residence at my desk, which is almost how I feel already. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep after the incident. However, leaving my room that early means I washed my laundry and ran all before 6am.

My coworker has cleared his throat 19, no 20, obnoxious times in the past 6 minutes. Excuse me, 21. He isn’t sick; this is unfortunately normal. 22. Yes, we are counting, and I don’t understand his deal. Is he an excessive phlegm-er? I’m going to anonymously gift him a family size Halls cough drops. We’re up to 26 now.

A few more folks arrived from the home office, and thankfully one of them is a friend! It’s good to have my buddy Jeff here, and, even better, is that a)he’s sitting right next to me and b)he’s making the tally marks of the perpetual throat-clearer. I don’t appreciate the random rodent images he’s flashing on his screen though.

I’m really busy with work now, which makes the days pass much quicker. I’ve begun leading Town Hall meetings, which breaks the monotony. I like that work. Time to go!

7 Responses to “My first mouse attack”

  1. rln Says:

    perhaps we should send you a broomstick or a pool cue to whack those little bastards in the middle of the night.

    miss you!

  2. shirl Says:

    I am truly sorry that you had to experience that. I don’t care how small they are and how big we are—I still DO NOT LIKE THEM!!! Mice, Rats, and Possums!

  3. marg Says:

    Did rln suggesT you hit jeff with a broomstick? Rude….Miss you lots. Xoxo love you more than breakfast tacos

  4. Becca Says:

    miss you too!
    perhaps i’m just going to move back into the tent. i’d rather not have my own rat-infested space. i’d like to share the rodents with others.

  5. Becca Says:

    I agree, Shirley! SO, SO GROSS!!!!! My hut-mates eat inside, and they’re so dirty and drop crumbs everywhere- perfect for the little vermin!

  6. nikki Says:

    I just cleared my throat 5 times. You know. In case you were keeping track.

  7. Becca Says:

    That’d be funny, Nikki, except he’s done it at least that many times since I’ve started typing a response! I was keeping count, thank you very much!

Leave a comment